Why I do what I do

<A Place for Everything and for Everything a Place Part 3                                                                                                  Accomplishments so far>

So to anyone just hopping on board, I teach Industrial Arts to middle and high school students in a public school.

 

Why do I do it? Here are some reasons:

 

I teach middle school and high school Industrial Arts because it was an Industrial Arts course that gave me new life when it came to thought and knowledge. Once I had that, I wanted to share it with others.

I teach Industrial Arts because making is empowering, and in Industrial Arts we are constantly making things, and empowering individuals.

 

I teach Industrial Arts because the content keeps me on my toes, and allows me to dance around student's interests.

 

I teach Industrial Arts to help fight ignorance, and to plant seeds.

 

I teach Industrial Arts because I can teach math, science, and even some English, and history.

 

I teach because of the great teachers I've had, and the horrible teachers I've had.

 

I teach because of the great students I've had, and the horrible students I've had.

 

I teach because through teaching, I've never learned so much, so quickly.

 

I teach because S.S.D.D. is never a valid acronym in this profession.

 

I do it because if I wasn't a teacher, I'd still be teaching.

 

I teach because it makes me smile.

 

I teach because it makes me make others smile.

 

I teach because it makes me make others make me smile.

 

I teach because my students become my team. 

 

I teach because everyday I get to handle brain power, the most miraculous energy source. I'm farming a delicate and elusive crop, with plants of every variety. There is no mono-culture in my job. 

 

I teach because after and before all the prep work, politics, penny-pinching, long hours, fundraising, , grading, lesson planning, curriculum developing, teeth grinding, tongue-biting and juggling a dozen other bowling pins, things stop, they become calm as students are just doing. No discipline, no off task behavior, just doing, and learning, and I could almost become invisible. I teach because, though rare, the eye of the storm, is a beautiful place to be.

 

I do what I do because there is a need for better minds, and I have just enough hope for myself that I can help deliver on that need.

 

I teach because I like to push the limits.

 

New post this Sunday.

 

Comment or PM for content you'd like to see published.

 

 

Follow me on Instagram for daily photos from the shop (sometimes I get off topic): @mr.barbercheck

Write a comment

Comments: 0